The Directorate of Breast Surgery is actively engaged in research and education. The department consists of five surgeons who offer a comprehensive breast service; including strong links with the breast screening/ radiological department

Educationally the department includes the Director of Medical Education for ELHT, the surgical tutor for breast conditions at the University of Central Lancashire and an Honorary Senior Lecturer post at Salford University.

The unit is involved in national audits:

  • National audit of breast cancer in older patients (NABCOP)
  • Implant registry
  • ‘Getting it right first time’ (GIRFT) 

The unit offers ‘state of the art’ oncoplastic procedures including immediate and delayed reconstructions with tissue expanders, implants, latissimus dorsi flaps and acellular dermal matrix (pre-pectorial and sub-pectorial). In addition therapeutic mammoplasty, lipo-modelling and symmetrical surgical procedures are currently offered.

In 2015 the unit was the first team in the Regional Network/Cancer Alliance to introduce patient led follow up. This subsequently has become a national recommendation and the ELHT unit leads the introduction of this scheme within the Cancer Alliance for Lancashire and Cumbria.​​​​​​

Consultant Breast Surgeons

Clinical Director:                 

  • Mr L Jones


  • Miss J McNicholas
  • Miss S Gawne
  • Miss J Iddon
  • Mr A Topps
  • Mr L Jones

Research and Audit

There are continuing quality improvement projects and regional audits. The unit is actively involved in multicentre research projects being led by the North West Research Collaborative and Breast NSSG. Consultants have been awarded Doctorates for their research

Access individual Consultant research in web sites below

  • East Lancashire hospitals NHS Trust@
  • Pubmed
  • Google scholar


Pubmed entries and Researchgate (main authors):

Mr A Topps                           8                  RG --- 

Miss S Gawne                        2                 RG ---

Miss J Iddon                          8                RG ---

Mr L Jones                             0              RG 2.87