Published on: 6 February 2019

New Honorary title holders from East Lancs Hospitals NHS Trust with UCLan and ELHT senior representatives - WEB.jpg

Pictured: Fourteen of the new Honorary title holders with senior University of Central Lancashire and East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust representatives at a special celebratory event which took place at UCLan’s Preston Campus.

A select group of East Lancashire medical professionals* have been recognised for the support they have provided to the University of Central Lancashire (UCLan).

The 23 East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust (ELHT) doctors, consultants and senior directors have been rewarded with honorary titles after helping with the development, research and support of the University’s School of Medicine.

Six have been made Honorary Professors, three have been selected as Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturers while 14 are now Honorary Senior Lecturers. It is the first time the University’s Medical School has handed out honorary positions to ELHT staff.

Professor Cathy Jackson, Executive Dean of the Faculty of Clinical and Biomedical Sciences, said: “We have worked closely with the Trust for the past five years and these 23 health professionals are being recognised for the hard work they have put in to facilitate the growth of our Medical School.”

The Honorary Professors have been selected because they are long-standing consultants who are undertaking key research, or they have contributed hugely to the area of education for a number of years. Some of the new professors will sit on the strategic board.

The Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturers and Honorary Senior Lecturers, who cover a wide variety of medical disciplines, have been chosen because they have had a hands-on teaching role with the UCLan medical or physician associate students, have undertaken research or they helped design and develop the curriculum.

Professor Jackson added: “Our Medical School could not expand or even exist without ELHT so for us to be able to recognise some of the people with honorary titles is our way of saying thank you.”

ELHT Chairman Professor Eileen Fairhurst, and new UCLan Honorary Fellow, commented: “We are deeply honoured and want to thank the University of Central Lancashire for these very special awards.

“This is a magnificent achievement which acknowledges and celebrates the significant contributions of so many clinical colleagues and underlines East Lancashire Hospitals’ reputation as the region’s leading NHS teaching institution.”

A celebratory event took place on 5 February at the University’s Preston Campus to welcome the first group into the UCLan community.

*The six Honorary Professors are:

Anton Krige, Consultant Anaesthetist and Associate Medical Director for Research and Development

Damian Riley, Executive Medical Director

Damien Lynch, Consultant Physician and Director of Undergraduate Education

Lee Suan Teh, Consultant Rheumatologist

Robin Paton, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon

Scot Garg, Consultant Interventional Cardiologist


The three Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturers are:

Fawad Zaman, Consultant Chest Physician

Fizan Younis, Consultant Upper Limb and Trauma Surgeon

Nasira Misfar, Speciality Doctor Obstetrics and Gynaecology


The 14 Honorary Senior Lecturers are:

Anna Macpherson, Consultant in Palliative Medicine

Chintan Sanghvi, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon

Gary Cousin, Consultant Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon

Iain Crossingham, Consultant Intensivist and Respiratory Physician

John Dean, Deputy Medical Director (Transformation)

Manu Shah, Consultant Dermatologist

Martin Maher, Consultant Obstetrician

Naseem Ghazali, Consultant Oral and Maxillofacial/Head & Neck Oncology and Reconstructive Surgery

Saifudin Khalid, Consultant Respiratory Physician and General Medicine

Shalom Srirangam, Consultant Urological Surgeon

Shenaz Ramtoola, Consultant Physician, Chief of Medicine

Simon Hill, Consultant Urogynaecologist and Deputy Medical Director

Surya Narayan, Consultant ENT Surgeon

Christine Clark, Specialty Doctor in Medical Education